Self-Introduction / 自己紹介(じこしょうかい)

Hello there!

If you’re here it means you either already know me, or you’re interested in finding out about the Critical Language Scholarship (CLS) program and what it really entails. This blog will be my way of recording things that I see, experience and learn during my 2-month adventure with the CLS program in Himeji, Japan.

Firstly: My name is Dervla and I’m a rising junior at Carnegie Mellon University in Pittsburgh, PA. My primary major is in Fine Arts (I’m a painter) and I also have a second major in Japanese Studies. I started learning the Japanese language a long time ago (in middle school), but only began to realize how important it could be to my career and my artistic practice after arriving at CMU. This winter I found out that I was lucky enough to receive a spot in this summer’s CLS program, and I’ve been preparing since then for what is probably going to be one of the most difficult, but valuable summers of my entire life. I am excited and humbled to become a part of this group of language learners and enthusiasts that comprises the CLS program and it’s larger community of past participants.

On this blog I will probably be writing a lot, but also posting a lot of photographs, and maybe even sketches I make during my trip. Please stay tuned as I hope to keep this blog regularly updated.

2 thoughts on “Self-Introduction / 自己紹介(じこしょうかい)

  1. Christie (fellow CLS participant)

    An artist? Cool! I love art and used to paint in high school a lot. I’d love to see your work! Do you know Fuco Ueda? Apparently she’s having an exhibit in Tokyo the first week we’ll be in Himeji. I really want to go but it’s so far…

    Reply
    1. Dervla Post author

      I wasn’t familiar with her before but thank you for mentioning the name, I just looked her up and her work looks very interesting! Yeah, Tokyo is a bit far (3.5 hours on the train, if I recall correctly), and I’m sure our first week will be planned out for us. However, I’d love to try and travel around to some art museums and galleries whenever we have a free weekend!
      Also, if you have a Facebook account, here is the Facebook group for CLS Japan participants this summer: https://www.facebook.com/groups/158335974322799/ (I hope that link works…)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

